Week 36 May 26

0

Posted by kavery508 | Posted in Uncategorized | Posted on May 26, 2014

globe We had an amazing time at Floral Goes Green! We posted the environmental study we conducted over the past few weeks for all to learn from, and we learned from our peers’ informative and engaging displays as well. We also were treated to a presentation on the Asian longhorn beetle, and a visit for first-graders from local beekeeper Barbara McPhee. She taught us about the life cycle, behavior, and importance of honeybees to our local environment.

032 035 033 029 030 031 037 038 039 040 041 042 043

spring concertYou’re invited! Our Spring Concert/End-of-Year Celebration will be held Wednesday, June 11, 9:30-10:15 in our Cafeteria. Similar to our Winter bash, we will be performing on the stage for family and friends, and we will remain after for photo opportunities and congratulations!

fractions1There are just two more weeks of math homework, ending June 5. The pages will come home in the regular homework packet like normal, and each assignment is dated. We will also have two more weeks of math fact quizzes, so keep on practicing and let’s see how high we can fly before the end! Reading and spelling homework will continue for 3 weeks, ending June 13. Instruction and assessment over the next weeks will focus on practicing, extending, and testing skills found on our report card.

Here are some more gems from our work with poetry this year. Notice how each poet conveys feeling with a combination of imagery and metaphor:

  • My Cat

My cat shivered on

the white table.

Nervous because he

knows the shot

will hurt. I was

worried he would

cry. When the

shot was over…

he rubbed up

to me. I

hope I don’t

have to do

that again.

by Andrew Milani

  • Rollerblading

the most

exciting thing

flashing lights

all sorts of colors

flying stars on the floor

digging both feet

push off

suddenly I go flying

past all strangers.

by Gino Evangelous

  • When I Got A Fracture

When I got a fracture

my feelings were heavy

and my stomach was

a stone

with a broken hand

like a swing

my hand

surrounded with

a thick layer

I was lonely and hurt

and feeling

lost in the desert.

by Karthik Yeddula

  • Softball

Softball is the best

Standing on home plate

gripping on the bat

Suddenly

the pitcher shoots the ball

right into my bat

getting closer

I swung the bat hard

it flew so far that

no one could catch it

I ran

first base

second base

there was more time

I slid

I reached

home plate!

by Julia Harasim

Write a comment

Skip to toolbar